Portobello Mushroom Caps Stuffed with Sausage, Mascarpone and Blue Cheese

photo 1

I promise you I’m not just eating mushrooms, though would there be anything wrong with that? It seems that lately I’ve taken a strong liking towards stuffed mushroom caps, recent being the last couple of years or so. There are so many flavor combos to play with: pizza, taco, pine nuts and goat cheese? Come on! I know, so many options gets a bit overwhelming at times so, here, consider this recipe a good place to start!

Though I can’t tell you when it was, I remember sitting in my parents’ living room one day, enjoying an episode of “Everyday Italian” with my mom. From this episode we sought some inspiration to tweak Giada’s recipe ever so slightly and take a crack at cooking our own Portobello mushroom caps stuffed with sausage, mascarpone and blue cheese. For that let me say, thank you. Thank you Giada!

I think the real selling point of this dish is the filling. Forgive me, but sometimes I think I don’t even need the mushroom. Sausage, mascarpone and blue cheese in a wrap, on a pizza, salad or even sandwich? I think yes. The mixture is so rich, creamy and flavorful. Very reminiscent of an elevated alfredo sauce. I say elevated because if it came down to it, I’d much rather top a plate of fresh pasta with this filling than some bland, uninspiring alfredo sauce. Confession: I very rarely eat alfredo sauce unless it’s my mom’s recipe. No sauce holds a candle to May’s!

Ingredients

4 Portobello mushrooms

14 oz. ground sausage

1 container of mascarpone cheese (8 oz.)

1/3 C blue cheese

1 T fresh oregano

1 T fresh basil

½ t garlic powder

1 small tomato

Salt and pepper to taste

*Note I play around with my herbs every time I make this recipe. Thyme is a good substitute for oregano or basil.

After removing stems and wiping off with a damp paper towel, place bottom-down in a pan coated with heated olive oil. Grill the caps on medium heat until they start to shrivel, soften and emit moisture into the pan (5-7 minutes or so). Grill 3-5 minutes on the other side and turn the heat down low while the filling finishes cooking.

While the caps are grilling, sauté the sausage on medium heat in olive oil. Once the meat begins to brown, add garlic powder, oregano, basil and mascarpone. Mix well. Reduce heat to medium-low, the mascarpone will melt quickly. Add ¼ C of the blue cheese and finish off with salt and pepper.

Once the blue cheese starts to melt, fill mushroom caps with sausage mixture. Top with slice tomato and remaining blue cheese crumbles.

photo 1 (1)

Yes, I know what you’re thinking. This photo looks a lot like the first one, but how could I not? Look at that creamy sauce dressing the sausage under those savory blue cheese sprinkles and just try to tell me you don’t feel saliva pooling at the back of your tongue. After talking these up and sharing my steps with you, I suppose there’s nothing left to do but leave you to it! Good luck and enjoy! …. I know you will.

Leave a Reply

