Chicken Pesto Sliders with Pesto Mayo

photo 3-1

Pesto reminds me of many things… my roommate from freshman year who quickly fell in love with the dining hall’s chicken pesto sandwich and made it her go-to meal (I must admit, it was pretty tasty), my mom’s homemade cooking with fresh herbs from the garden and more importantly, delicious recipes, like these Pesto Chicken Sliders ….to think I used to stick out my tongue and throw a fit when my mom decided to make pasta with pesto for dinner.  The stuff’s flat out delicious and you best believe I’m making up for all of the years I’ve been missing out on.

No matter how many times I eat these sliders, I always forget how tasty and addicting they can be.  Whenever I think there’s a chance I’m not craving a chicken pesto slider, I take a bite, lose that feeling and immediately dig in for another.  Summertime, wintertime, anytime.

Oh, and one more thing, they’re super simple to make.  Gather eight basic ingredients and you’re all set. That’s it!

Ingredients

2 lbs. ground chicken

1 T worcestershire sauce

1/3 C grated parmesan cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Tomatoes

Red onion

3-4 heaping spoonfuls of pesto (optional)

¼ C – ½ C mayonnaise

Directions

Combine the ground chicken, parmesan cheese, Worcestershire, pesto and salt and pepper in a bowl.  Make large meatball-sized rounds and flatten them into patties.   (2 pounds of ground chicken typically gives close to 20 patties.)

Grill patties until a crust forms and they’re golden brown in color – about 4-5 minutes on each side.

I realize a pile of meet isn't exactly the most appetizing image, but just look at that color.  You can almost smell the crispy, carmelized bits that cling to the patty edges and linger in the pan.

I realize a pile of meat isn’t exactly the most appetizing image, but just look at that color! You can almost smell the crispy, caramelized bits that cling to the edges of the patties and linger in the pan.  Ahhh!

*Note: the original recipe I modify this from doesn’t call for pesto in the patties, but I like the extra flavor.  In the past I’ve found that the pesto mayo just isn’t enough.

Oh right, I almost forgot, mix your remaining pesto with mayonnaise and voila: pesto mayo!  Pretty simple right?

I encourage you to play with toppings, but first may I highly recommend sliced tomatoes and red onion under a bed of fresh spinach leaves?  Yum!

I love to pair these patties with crusty and chewy on the outside, yet soft on the inside, pretzel rolls (which are fun to make from scratch, by the way). It’s just the perfect match! Actually, to be honest, I often eat the patty alone, sans bun!  C’est magnifique!

Before you know it you’ll be on your way to pesto paradise!  Enjoy!

photo 4

Leave a Reply

