Cauliflower Crust Pizza

I bravely attempted a new culinary endeavor in the kitchen Friday night.  To encourage my progress on the low-carb front (see previous post) I made a cauliflower crust to make up for pizza’s lacking presence in my life these days.  Okay, yes, I realize it’s far from groundbreaking as far as new recipes go, but it’s new for me! I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t skeptical throughout the entire cooking process, convinced I would be disappointed at first bite.  I’m here to report I was pleasantly surprised and am already brainstorming other toppings that would pair nicely.

photo-3

After browsing a handful of recipes online, I found myself pulling different ingredients from each and building my own.  Let me tell you, it’s darn simple:

Ingredients:

½ head of cauliflower

1 egg

¼ C plain greek yogurt

Herbs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400.

Lightly chop the cauliflower before placing in a food processor.  Pulse until the cauliflower looks like grains of rice.  Empty it out onto a towel (preferably cloth, paper towel has a tendency to stick or rip) and press to get as much moisture out as possible.

In a separate bowl, beat egg and whisk together with yogurt.  Add the cauliflower once it’s been pressed.  Mix together.

Press the wet mixture onto your baking surface – I used a pizza stone lined with parchment paper – into as big of a circle as you can get with about ¼” thickness.

Sprinkle the raw “dough” … er, mixture, with an herb blend of your choice.  (I used garlic powder, basil, oregano and thyme.)  Pop it in the preheated oven for 30 minutes.  It will come out slightly golden around the edges and looking like flatbread.  Add your toppings and finish it off in the oven for 5-10 minutes.  I added marinara, chedder and mozzarella cheese, olives, pepperoni, mushrooms and tomatoes.  Margherita or garlic cream sauce next time anyone?  Yum!

Leave a Reply

