Buffalo Chicken Craze

I don’t know what it is, but something this summer spawned my newly developed craze for buffalo chicken: wraps, salads, wings, sandwiches, pizzas and more!  Perhaps one too many happy hours at Buffalo Wild Wings are to blame.  In fact, a strong attraction to their spicy garlic sauce, thanks to a convincing plea from my brother, the spicy food king, lead me to take a stab at my own recipe.  While I have a special place in my heart, er tummy, for BWW’s, my recipe does satisfy the taste buds and alleviates my BWW cravings.

For your dining pleasures, I want to share the recipe I based my Spicy Garlic Wing Sauce recipe on.  I will say it has a bit of a kick to it that leaves the nose running, so feel free to use less cayenne if you prefer a milder heat.  Also, I’m a boneless wing gal, so I opt to cut up chicken breasts in 1-2 inch pieces, bread them with seasoned flour and bake them in the oven.  It’s a healthier alternative to frying, but I drizzle a little olive oil over the top to get that desired crunch factor.  (Lesson learned: it’s safe to mix up more flour than you anticipate needing.  I’ve run short the last couple of times and I like to have a nice, thick coating.

I would like to thank a recent Pinterest perusal for providing me with even more buffalo chicken inspiration!  Last night I made shredded buffalo chicken in the Crock Pot (it seems to be my go-to appliance as of late). Let me tell you folks, it’s a winner.  So simple, yet so versatile!  Pinterest alone offers several recipes to choose from, but my research shows they’re all pretty similar.

Here’s what I used:

–       3 medium to large-sized chicken breasts (I used fresh over frozen to prevent toughness, but I’m sure it works just fine)

–       1 bottle of Frank’s Original Buffalo Sauce (Making wing sauce from scratch is high on my to-do list.  I have yet to find a recipe.)

–       1 pouch of dry ranch dressing mix

–        1-2 T butter

Here’s what I did:

After salting and peppering the chicken breasts, I placed them in the Crock Pot and poured roughly 2/3 of the sauce over them.  I sprinkled the entire pouch of dressing mix on top and left them to cook on low.

After 6 ½ – 7 hours the meat was nearly cooked through and falling apart, thus easy to shred.  I returned it to the pot with the butter and let it stew another 30 minutes or so.  Roughly five minutes before serving I added the remaining wing sauce.

The pictures just don’t do it justice.

I chose to spoon it over a bed of brown rice and top it with a few bleu cheese crumbles.  I’m looking forward to doing something different with it next time, the possibilities are endless!  In the future, I’ll try using extra wing sauce.  This recipe lacked the saucy element I yearned for!

Leave a Reply

