Lights, Camera, Action: Starring Food

I don’t know what it is that I love about watching cooking shows.  Maybe it all started when I would curl up on the couch with my mom and watch “Yan Can Cook” every morning.  (Have you seen what that man can do with a knife?) It’s not as if I get to taste their creations, or even smell them for that matter.  (Talk about a want for smellivision.)  Come to think of it, they’re always saying how good their food looks, tastes and smells.   Sure we can see it, but there’s no way of really knowing whether it tastes and smells as delicious as they say.  I like to think it does, but at the same time, isn’t it a little cruel to rub it in our faces?  I want to hear that sizzle and taste those flavors as much as them!

Unfortunately living the rough life of a college student leaves me without cable for the first time in my entire life.  (I know, I know, poor me.) It hasn’t been smooth sailing, but it’s okay, I’m getting by just fine.  I sure have missed sprawling out on the sofa and watching cooking show after cooking show on Food Network.  Some how, I never get sick of cake challenges (yes, even repeats), “Throwdown” with Bobby Flay, “Everyday Italian” with Giada de Laurentiis, really the list goes on.

I realize I’m probably better off watching less television and devoting my time elsewhere (school perhaps?), but I actually think it’s aided to my dependence on the Internet.  I’ve come across thousands of ways to satiate my appetite, until my next trip home that is.  (Is this great or what?)  I wish I could say I’ve found online episodes, but no.  Who knows, maybe they’re out there.  I’ll have to check into it.    In searching the web for the next best thing, I hit the mother load!  There are so many video blogs with great recipe ideas and turorial videos.  Pretend you’re craving something new for dinner.  You come across one that sounds delectable, but you’ve never made it and don’t know what to do.  Well rest assured, ifood Tv and Spices of Life are here to help!

Ifood Tv is the ultimate food blog with more recipes and videos than you could ever imagine.  Just wait, it gets better.  Any chance you’re looking for new blogs to follow, wine suggestions or advice from culinary professionals?  If so, look no further!  I think this video says it all!  Warning, you can spend hours on their site!  It was hard for me to tear myself away.

Spices of Life has even more videos with recipes and great tips, which is hard to imagine after visiting ifood tv.  The food, health, lifestyle and pleasure video blog has so many realms to explore.  Everything from episodes and interviews to healthy meals and food from around the globe, so take your pick!  The site’s most recent episode features a video with a Newman’s Own Organics president (ahem, Paul Newman’s daughter!) offering insight into the company’s yummy efforts!  I don’t know about you, but I haven’t come across anything like it before.  Looks like it’s time for me to catch up on all of her entries.  I’m not complaining!  Between Spices of Life, ifood tv and many more video food blogs, I’ll have no problem satisfying my Food Network cravings!

Leave a Reply

