Ginger Peach and Blueberry Tart Success

Okay, I know you’re dying to hear how the ginger peach and blueberry tart turned out.  So I thought I’d follow through and give you a little update.

Good news folks, it was a success!  My sister and I received nothing but raving reviews.  Of course I tried some myself, and must say it was pretty impressive!  Then again, I’m always a little partial to my own cooking and baking.  Aren’t we all?  (Please say yes.) I can’t think of a time where I was altogether disappointed with my final result of a recipe.  I think after slaving away for hours in the kitchen, it’s easy to convince yourself that you’ve made something delicious, even when there are obvious flaws.  Sure I have my fair shares of mishaps, whether the presentation turns out far from what I envision or the flavor of a particular ingredient is less potent than I want it to be.  Yet somehow, it’s never enough to keep me from grabbing a fork or spoon and putting my taste buds to the test.  In the words of my mom, “it’s okay, it still tastes the same”. Yes, I’d say there’s a good chance she’s speaking from experience, but I think it helps me appreciate her words of wisdom all the more.  So on that note, thanks May for your constant words of encouragement.

Anyways, time to get back to where I started.  After my sister’s delicious dinner of our mother’s famous fettuccini, accompanied by asparagus, canlis salad (another Lawson favorite), garlic-romano rustic bread and cantaloupe, we each managed to scarf down a slice of the tart.  That’s right, everyone had some! Well, everyone but my younger brother.  (He’s been devoting hour after hour to playing in the high school spring musical orchestra.)  Sadly he missed out on the special day and the tasty treats that filled it!  Sorry Matt, even the dogs got a taste here and there!  I guess it’s a good thing there was plenty left over.

Okay, so maybe my photo isn’t the greatest.  I have yet to master the art of food photography.  In due time my friends.  (Here’s to hoping anyways.)  For now, I guess you’ll have to believe me when I say it tasted way better than it looks!

We ended up lucking out with the peaches; they were surprisingly sweet and flavorful.  For some reason we were only able to white, so I’d be interested to try it with yellow next time and see how it compares.  As far as the ginger goes, I had some trouble tasting it, but I think that’s for the best.  It wonderfully complements the peaches and blueberries, but isn’t overpowering.  The recipe calls for rolled oats, listen to them.  My sister and I got a little carried away trying to improvise and be creative.  We used half the amount of rolled oats the recipe called for and substituted the other half with steel cut.  I’m sure it tastes just as good either way, but the crust was a tad chewy.  So, if by chance that’s what you’re going for, do what we did.  We’re glad we could help!

Oh, before I forget, the vanilla bean ice cream makes for a perfect accompaniment.  This recipe’s a keeper!

Shout out to tastespotting for directing me towards yet another fabulous recipe and blog to follow.  Keep doing what you’re doing!

3 thoughts on “Ginger Peach and Blueberry Tart Success

  1. Hi there. I am so glad you liked the tart. I am the author of the recipe. I hope it lived up to your expectations. I especially like the oatmeal cookie crust. I hope you will visit our site for more ‘tasties’ or continue to find us at Tastespotting. Best wishes, Sam.

  2. It was delicious! Good work. I agree, the oatmeal crust is a nice touch and so different from most tart crusts. I’m always looking for recipes to use up blueberries, looks like I found one! Can’t wait to find more.

  3. Yes, the crust was great because it wasn’t too sweet. Great recipe. It was perfect, way to go Erinn and Andi! 🙂

Leave a Reply

