Welcome food fanciers

First things first, this here’s my first shot at the whole blogging thing and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous.  For what seems like years I’ve had that little voice in my head pressuring me to jump into the blogosphere.  Well, whenever I heard this I knew it was right, yet I still couldn’t bring myself to start.  In all honesty, I struggled to come up with something to write about that I deemed worthwhile or beneficial to others.  Then there was the challenge of coming to terms with the idea of my thoughts subjected to criticism from the Internet.  Nearing the end of my third year of college, it’s time for a change and it’s time for me to branch out.  So here goes nothing!

I’m Erinn Lawson and I’m a junior at the University of Oregon.  Go ducks! I’m pursuing a major in Journalism, with a focus on public relations, as well as a minor in French.  It seems the more I learn about public relations, the more I realize the wide variety of avenues open for me to pursue.  All things food-related are one of my biggest obsessions (yes this includes eating).  Aside from always knowing I would pursue a job in the world of journalism, the idea of a culinary-related career remains at the back of my mind, knocking on my brain reminding me of its presence.  Finding a job in the PR field that involves food in some form or another would be a lifelong dream fulfilled.  The idea that it’s possible adds to my already existing excitement to enter the world of PR.

I’m not sure that I can explain my love for food; other than it’s simply an obsession.  Then again, some individuals deserve credit for influencing me along this journey of discovery, mainly my mom.  I have countless memories of my mom cooking and baking in the kitchen, whether traditional holiday feasts, special birthday requests or the everyday evening meal.  No matter the complexity or simplicity behind each, she always manages to put her own spin on it giving it that unbeatable mom-like quality.  For as long as I can remember, she always welcomed me to join her and complete the little tasks she gave to me.  Nowadays, this turns into, “Erinn, what are you making for dinner?”  Another person I like to think had some influence on my culinary interests is my grandma.  Though she passed when I was only two, from what I hear, the kitchen was her common place of retreat.  Lucky for me, a collection of her recipes has been passed down giving me a chance to not only experience her talent but also to recreate the masterpieces.  Of course, I can’t forget the certain television food stars that constantly inspire me to emulate or tweak their recipes and make them something of my own.

The purpose of this blog is to explore the number of job opportunities combining all things food-related and public relations and/or communications.  Ideally, this will give me a better sense of what those jobs entail and help me decide whether or not it is something I in fact see myself pursuing in the near future.  I’ve come to realize the difficulties and importance of maintaining a positive image in the food industry, let alone any industry.  I’m looking forward to exploring this idea more.

Now, please understand that I’m by no means an expert in this area; it’s more of a work in progress.  Nonetheless, I want Erinn’s Eats to be a place for us (myself and all you readers) to express our passions, our trials and errors, our successes and the like.  I welcome you to come along for the ride, but I warn you, it may be bumpy at times.  Bear with me!

One thought on “Welcome food fanciers

  1. Hi there,
    Yes, you were all 4 nursed (mother nature provides) and started on solid foods around 6 months of age. It was so easy to get out the baby food grinder to feed freshly cooked veggies and meats with no added salt.

    Like your blog a lot.

    May

Leave a Reply

